UNESCO World Heritage Sites

Temple of Juno at the top of the Valley of Temples
Valley of Temples, Agrigento

UNESCO World Heritage Sites are places of ‘outstanding cultural or natural importance to the common heritage of humanity’.

The first list of just 12 sites was compiled by UNESCO in 1978. This has now expanded to 1007 sites, comprising 779 cultural, 197 natural, and 31 mixed properties.

Many of these sites have been included in articles on this website:

British Isles

•  UNESCO World Heritage Sites in the UK

• Albert Dock, Liverpool, England
Edinburgh Old Town and New Town, Scotland
Fountains Abbey and Studley Royal Water Garden, England

Rest of Europe

• Agrigento, Sicily
Budapest, Hungary
Burgos Cathedral, Spain
Catania, Sicily
• Český Krumlov, Czech Republic
Gracanica Monastery, Kosovo
Ggantija Temples, Gozo, Malta
Koblenz and the Upper Middle Rhine Valley
Kutná Hora, Czech Republic
Mont Saint-Michel, France
Mt Etna, Sicily
Pompeii and Herculaneum, Italy
Syracuse, Sicily
Villa del Casale, Sicily
Villa d’Este, Tivoli, Italy

Rest of the World

Changdeokgung Palace, South Korea
• Colonia del Sacramento, Uruguay
• Île de Gorée, Senegal
• Kirstenbosch Gardens, Cape Town, South Africa
Lima, Peru
• Darjeeling Himalayan Railway, India
• Levuka, Fiji